Hall of Fame Rules Points Results Schedule Home Contact Track Info Delph Communications Follow Us on Twitter! Like Us on Facebook! Visit Our Instagram Page!

Click for Driver Registration Form!

Cory Hedgecock Holds On for Summer Showdown Win

(August 7, 2021) Smoky Mountain Speedway roared back into action by welcoming the American Pro Late Model All-Stars for a $10,000 to win event. Thirty-three drivers from across the region signed in.

Following a wild fast car dash, Cory Hedgecock earned the pole position for the 60-lap race. Hedgecock would lead the field to the green flag and quickly jumped to the lead over Matt Henderson. Mack McCarter and Zach Sise would battle for third behind the front duo.

Henderson stayed locked onto the rear of Hedgecock's machine. Henderson eventually challenged Hedgecock for the lead. Hedgecock used the momentum of the outside line to hold off Henderson until a caution on lap 18.

On the restart, Henderson had to fight off McCarter to maintain second. Hedgecock put some distance between himself and Henderson until the pair caught heavy, slower traffic.

Following a caution on lap 40, Henderson again had to fight off McCarter for second. McCarter made contact with the backstretch wall that ended his night. This moved Eli Beets up to third. Beets battled Henderson for second on the next restart, but Henderson quickly maintained the spot and set his sights on Henderson.

In the closing laps, Henderson made several challenges for the lead. Henderson could not get far enough even with Hedgecock to wrestle away the lead. Hedgecock held on to win the Summer Showdown.

(MRM Racing Photo)

1. Cory Hedgecock # 23
2. Matt Henderson # 17
3. Eli Beets # 109
4. Zach Sise # 9
5. Dillon Brown # 6b
6. Randy Weaver # 16
7. Jake Teague # 117
8. Logan Roberson # 17
9. Josh Henry # B00
10. Rusty Ballenger # 29
11. Ben Watkins # 32
12. Chris Chandler # 8
13. Ricky Greene # 18
14. Layton Sullivan # 08
15. Parker Martin # 6jr
16. Michael Bland # 2
17. Mack McCarter # 51
18. Brandon Miller # 89
19. Jesse Lowe # D2
20. Trevor Sise # 9t
21. William Blankenship # 32
22. Kyle Courtney # 71
23. Justin Smith # 7
24. Tyler Arrington # 002

DID NOT QUALIFY: Carson Ferguson (00), Terry Poore (2), Tyler Price (7), Bradley Lewelling (10b), Travis McDowell (28), Garrett Mosley (38), John Cobb (40), Kaede Loudy (126), Mike Bargo (J317)

(MRM Racing Photo)

Skip Arp lead flag-to-flag to win the limited late model feature. Arp was never challenged for the lead that went caution free. Taylor Puckett finished comfortably in second while Bobby Giffin held off Jed Emert for third.

1. Skip Arp # 31
2. Taylor Puckett # 28
3. Bobby Giffin # 97
4. Jed Emert # 51
5. Roger Best # 00
6. Kelvin White # X
7. Ryan Tims # 84

Jake Whitehead picked up his second straight sportsman late model win at Smoky Mountain Speedway. Whitehead took the early lead over Brad Seagle and never looked back in getting the win. Seagle finished second and Kip Sawyer held off Hayden Cardwell for second.

1. Jake Whitehead # 116
2. Brad Seagle # 31
3. Kip Sawyer # 44
4. Hayden Cardwell # 07
5. Bryan Cooper # 15
6. Jed Emert # 98
7. Dustin Ratliff # 10
8. Sonny Huskey # 6
9. Mason Bare # 24
10. Bill Norwood # 7
11. Chris McKinney # 113
12. Dylan Cole # 426
13. Chris Johnston # C9

The front wheel drive race was drama-filled despite only 4 cars making the call for the feature. Jacob Sharp grabbed the early lead over Dusty Branstetter. All four cars run much of the race nose-to-tail as none of the drivers could separate themselves from the others. After Trey Floyd dropped out the race, Brandon Crawford spun in turn 1 to leave Sharp and Branstetter to battle it out for the win. As the lead pair was coming to take the white flag, Sharp blew and engine and pulled into the infield. That left Branstetter as the only car running and making him the winner.

1. Dusty Branstetter # 25
2. Jacob Sharp # 1
3. Brandon Crawford # 00
4. Trey Floyd # 3kp

DID NOT START: Luke Thompson ( 3 )

Saturday, September 25th
King of the Mountain Fall Classic
Southern All Stars Super Late Models - $7,500 to win
Topless Outlaws Late Model Series - $3,000 to win
Front Wheel Drives - $500 to win
plus... 2021 Smoky Mountain Speedway Hall of Fame Inductions!



Hall of Fame Track Info Rules Points Results Schedule Home Contact Follow Us on Twitter! Like Us on Facebook! Visit Our Instagram Page!