Print Friendly
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Wood, Crabtree, McLemore and Presley snag Smoky Mountain Speedway wins By Chris Tilley MARYVILLE, TN (May 25, 2013)—Dillon Wood of New Smyrna Beach, FL led flag-to-flag for his first Ultimate Late Model Series win and his first victory at Smoky Mountain Speedway on Saturday Night May 25 during the ‘Ultimate Showdown” event. Other event winners were David Crabtree of Maryville, TN in the Crate Late Models, Jeff McLemore of Maryville, TN in the Street Stocks and Lukas Presley of Crossville, TN in the Mini Stocks. Wood and outside pole-sitter Chris Ferguson would bring the field to Darrell Watson’s green flag for the start of the 40-lap main event in the Super Late Models with Woof getting the jump into one and leading early on and Ferguson staying right with him, going side-by-side at times for the lead. Five cautions slowed the race as lap three Zack Mitchell slowed in turn two, then lap eight it was Jeff Franklin spinning in turn two. On lap 11, a multi-car accident between Sammie Russell and Chuck Laney coming off turn four ended Russell’s night. On Lap 28 Chuck Laney slowed on the front chute with smoke underneath his #91 mount and his night was over. The final yellow would come on lap 38 as Jeff Smith slowed coming off turn four. Wood went to Victory Lane over sixth starting Billy Ogle Jr. Ray Cook was third after starting tenth, then Chris Ferguson fourth and Casey Roberts was fifth. The driver known as ‘Sunshine’ pulled into Victory Lane while driving the Keyser Manufacturing, Integra Shocks, GW Performance and Gotta Race sponsored Clements Racing Engines powered Rocket Chassis. In preliminary Super Late Model action, Dillon Wood would set fast time with a 15:192 second lap while Josh Collins and Ray Cook claimed B-Main victories. David Crabtree of Maryville, TN would hold off challenges from Crossville, TN’s Brett Wyatt to claim the Crate Late Model main event. Wyatt settled for second while Hunter Best, John Cobb and Adam Beeler rounded out the top five. In the Street Stock main event, Maryville, TN’s Jeff McLemore claimed the victory on his Birthday Saturday over Jon Cook, Mark Mincey, Scott Brown and Mitchell Brown. The Mini Stock main event was won by Crossville, TN drover Lukas Presley over Jason Carter, Sam Burgess, Bobby Reichert and Nick Adams. The Smoky Mountain Speedway will return to action on Saturday Night June 15th with the running of the third annual Big Daddy 500 presented by Tennessee R.V. as the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series makes their second appearance of the season to the Maryville, TN speed plant for a 40-lap $5,000 to win event along with racing in the Crate Late Models ($1,000 to win), Street Stocks ($300 to win) and Topless Modifieds. Racing action for Smoky Mountain Speedway includes the hosting of other special events throughout the 2013 season including: Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series, Ray Cook’s Spring Nationals Series, Ray Cook’s Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series, American Modified Series, World of Outlaws Late Model Series, United Sprint Car Series, Southern Regional Racing Series and the Ultimate Late Models. The Smoky Mountain Speedway is located at 809 Brickmill Road in Maryville, TN 37801. The track phone number is (865) 856-8989. You can obtain further information on Smoky Mountain Speedway by logging on to . Be a follower of Smoky Mountain Speedway on Twitter by following @SMOKYMTNSPEED. Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN Saturday May 25, 2013 Official Summary of Results Ultimate Super Late Model Series: 1.  Dillon Wood # 1w 2.  Billy Ogle, Jr. # 201 3.  Ray Cook # 53 4.  Chris Ferguson # 21 5.  Casey Roberts # 101 6.  Brett Miller # 83 7.  David Watts # 04 8.  Mike Gault # 17 9.  Jeff Wolfenbarger # 28 10.  Mark Rosner # 17 11.  Jeff Franklin # J12 12.  Jeff Smith # 70 13.  Tommy Kerr # 4t 14.  Josh Collins # 63 15.  Chuck Laney # 91 16.  Ivedent Lloyd, Jr. # 21 17.  Skylar Marlar # 257 18.  Terry Wolfenbarger # 14 19.  Sammie Russell # F4 20.  Chad Ogle # 10 21.  Vic Hill # 1 22.  Mark Vineyard # 4 23.  Stacy Boles # 11b 24.  Zack Mitchell # 57 FAILED TO QUALIFY:  Daniel Baggerly (16), Joe Denby (27), Ellery Leake (34), Mark Douglas (52d), Larry Timms (71), Bobby Giffin (97) Crate Late Models: 1.  David Crabtree # C5 2.  Brett Wyatt # 17 3.  Hunter Best # 007 4.  John Cobb # 40 5.  Adam Beeler # 66 6.  Matt Henderson # 17 7.  Robby Moses # 7 8.  Rusty Webb # 22 9.  Roger Best # 5 10.  Jason McCall # 98 11.  James Kelso # 49 12.  Tom Smith # 14 13.  Greg Muse # 44 14.  James Cole # 5 15.  Cody Brake # 586 Street Stock: 1.  Jeff McLemore # J3 2.  Jon Cook # 0z 3.  Mark Mincey # 75 4.  Scott Brown # 368x 5.  Mitchell Brown # 368 6.  Jeremy Hershner # 10 7.  Travis Reno # 77 8.  Michael Herron # 25 9.  Lloyd Hall # 00 Mini Stock: 1.  Lukas Presley # L92 2.  Jason Carter # 39 3.  Sam Burgess # 23 4.  Bobby Reichert # 21 5.  Nick Adams # 92 6.  Scott Webb # 0 7.  Justin Kelso # 21

Comments are closed.