Print Friendly
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE   Ray Cook rolls to Southern Regional Racing Series SHOWDOWN Night # 2 Victory at Smoky Mountain Speedway   By Chris Tilley   MARYVILLE, TN (June 30, 2012)—There was a new winner at Smoky Mountain Speedway in 2012 tonight as the Southern Regional Racing Series rolled into town for the 40-lap $3,000 to win SHOWDOWN Night # 2.   Vic Hill has dominated this season but a vacation this weekend has prompted a new winner. Tonight was Brasstown, NC driver Ray Cook who took the lead from Brett Miller on lap 8 to go on to victory over Billy Ogle Jr., Tommy Kerr, Brett Miller and PA’s D.J. Myers.   Cook drove to victory lane while driving the Hicks and Ingle Construction, A+ Moving and Storage, D&R Motorsports sponsored Race Engine Design powered MasterSbilt Race Car to the win of the 35 lapper. One red flag stopped the race as Mark Vineyard’s ride wound up on top of David Crabtree’s entry, both were pulled off one another and continued. Then the first full yellow came on lap 15 as Mark Douglas slowed in turn two then the final yellow came on lap 17 as Skip Arp slowed in turn two.   The SRRS Showdown rolls to 411 Motor Speedway just up the road in Seymour, TN on Monday Night July 2nd for a 40-lap $3,000 to win event then on Tuesday Night July 3rd at Wartburg Speedway in Wartburg, TN for the $4,000 to win finale.   Official Summary of Results   Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN Southern Regional Racing Series Late Models Saturday Night June 30, 2012   Feature Finish: 1. Ray Cook-Maryville, TN 2. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, TN 3. Tommy Kerr-Maryville, TN 4. Brett Miller-Greeneville, TN 5. D.J. Myers-Greencastle, PA 6. Josh Putnam-Florence, AL 7. David Payne-Murphy, NC 8. Ronnie Johnson-Chattanooga, TN 9. Mark Vineyard-Powell, TN 10. Skylar Marlar-Winfield, TN 11. Riley Hickman-Chattanooga, TN 12. Aaron Ridley-Chatsworth, GA 13. Pierce McCarter-Sevierville, TN 14. Jeff Watson-Campbellsville, KY 15. Josh Henry-Newport, TN 16. David Crabtree-Maryville, TN 17. Skip Arp-Georgetown, TN 18. Mark Douglas-Knoxville, TN 19. Chad Ogle-Sevierville, TN 20. Bobby Giffin-Maryville, TN 21. Jeff Franklin-Ten Mile, TN 22. Steve Smith-Powell, TN 23. Weston Gantte-Dandridge, TN 24. Mike Weeks-Friendsville, TN 25. Matt Henderson-Loudon, TN (DNS) 26. Sammie Russell-Madisonville, TN (DNS)   Yellow Flags: Two (laps 15, 17) Red Flags: One (lap 1) Lap Leaders: Miller (1-7); Cook (8-35) Time of Race: 32 minutes/43 seconds Entries: 26 from six states (TN, GA, NC, AL, PA and KY) Fast Qualifier: Ray Cook-15:935 seconds   Heat-1 Finish: Skip Arp, D.J. Myers, Mark Vineyard, Skylar Marlar, Jeff Franklin, Weston Gantte, Sammie Russell   Heat-2 Finish: Riley Hickman, Mike Weeks, Pierce McCarter, David Crabtree, Ronnie Johnson, Steve Smith, Bobbi Giffin   Heat-3 Finish: Josh Putnam, Chad Ogle, Aaron Ridley, Jeff Watson, Josh Henry, Matt Henderson (DNS)   Dash Finish: Brett Miller, Billy Ogle Jr., Ray Cook, Tommy Kerr, David Payne, Mark Douglas   2012 SHOWDOWN Event Winners: Todd Morrow-East Ridge, TN (June 28th at Duck River Speedway) Todd Morrow-East Ridge, TN (June 29th at Duck River Speedway) Ray Cook-Brasstown, NC (June 30th at Smoky Mountain Speedway) 2012 SHOWDOWN Upcoming Events: Monday July 2-411 Motor Speedway-Seymour, TN-$3,000 to win Tuesday July 3-Wartburg Speedway-Wartburg, TN-$4,000 to win

Comments are closed.