Print Friendly
Smoky Mountain Speedway Maryville, TN Saturday, October 26th TENNESSEE STATE CHAMPIONSHIP - NIGHT # 2 SUPER LATE MODELS 1.  Mike Marlar # 157 2.  Chris Madden # 44 3.  Scott Bloomquist # 0 4.  Randy Weaver # 116 5.  Billy Ogle, Jr. # 201 6.  Jonathan Davenport # 49 7.  Vic Hill # 1 8.  Casey Roberts # 101 9.  William Thomas # A19 10.  Jason Welshan # 29 11.  Bret Holmes # H2 12.  Jeff Franklin # J12 13.  Skip Arp # 31 14.  Chris Ferguson # 21 15.  Daniel Baggerly # 16 16.  Skylar Marlar # 257 17.  Mark Vineyard # 4 18.  Stacy Boles # 11b 19.  Riley Hickman # R1 20.  Tommy Kerr # 4t 21.  Steve Casebolt, Jr. # C9 22.  Mark Douglas # 52d 23.  Bobby Giffin # 97 24.  David Crabtree # C5 DID NOT QUALIFY:   Ellery Leake (34), Ryan King (30), Eddie Blackmon (1) CRATE LATE MODELS 1.  Jake Teague # 117 2.  Mark Vineyard # 4 3.  Jimmy Elliott # J39 4.  Riley Hickman # R1 5.  Brett Wyatt # 17 6.  Adam Beeler # 66 7.  Daniel Baggerly # 16 8.  Todd Morrow # 16 9.  Tod Hernandez # T6 10.  Roger Best # 5 11.  Robby Moses # 7 12.  Jason McCall # 98 13.  Chad Beeler # 6 14.  Colby Moses # 17 15.  Craig Reece # 74 16.  Kip Sawyer # 11 17.  Bobby Mays # 19m 18.  Brad Coffey # 88 19.  Jerry Coffman # 30 20.  Todd Brooks # T1 21.  Rusty Webb # 22 22.  James Kelso # 40 23.  Brett Ashley # 9 24.  Matt Shockley # 007 DID NOT QUALIFY:  Johnny Bales (1b), David Crabtree (C5) STREET STOCKS 1.  Ben Sexton # 6 2.  Daniel Reese # 66 3.  Jeff McLemore # J3 4.  Mitchell Brown # 368 5.  Scott Brown # 368x 6.  Jon Cook # 0z CLASSIC CARS 1.  Cameron Skinner # 33x 2.  Bart Baxter # 7 3.  Phillip Thompson # 24 4.  Garrik Kelley # 18 5.  Joel Wolfenbarger # 13j 6.  Logan Dukes # 1 7.  Tim Sands, Jr. # 21 8.  Marvin Ray # 98 9.  Richie Overholser # 44 10.  Robbie Sands # 8 DID NOT START:  Joe Keck (18)   Mike Marlar Wins TN State Championship presented by NAPA at Smoky Mountain Speedway Maryville, TN-October 26, 2013- The Southern All Star Racing Series would be in action on Saturday evening at Smoky Mountain Speedway for the TN State Championship presented by NAPA and Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN would grab the victory and $10,000 payday.  Other feature event winners for the evening included Jake Teague of Wartburg, TN in Crate Late Models, Cameron Skinner in Classic Cars, and Ben Sexton in Street Stocks. Tommy Kerr and Mike Marlar would duel for the race lead on the opening lap of the contest, with Marlar winning the battle for the top spot, with Chris Madden overtaking Kerr for second on trip later.  Kerr would have mechanical issues on lap 4 and draw a caution and be in and out of the pit area for the remainder of the event.  The restart had Marlar out front still, while Madden and Chris Ferguson would battle for second, while Scott Bloomquist gave chase to that duo.  Marlar would begin working traffic on lap 12 and Madden would close in on the leader as the pair worked slower traffic masterfully in tight quartered action.  Skylar Marlar would draw the next caution flag on lap 18 when his machine would slow at the bottom of turn one and disaster would strike Ferguson three laps later when his evening was done with a broken axle tube.  The final restart would see Marlar begin to pull away from Madden and open up almost a full straightaway lead over Madden before Madden would begin to charge back on Marlar in the final ten circuits of the 50 lap, $10,000 event, but would come up a few car lengths short at the finish.  Marlar would see the checkered flag first aboard the Ronnie Delk owned Delk Equipment/RS Trading sponsored #157 Rocket Chassis powered by a Cornett Race Engine.  Madden would settle for second, while Bloomquist would come home in the third position.  Randy Weaver and Billy Ogle, Jr. would round out the top five finishers.  Completing the top ten would be Jonathan Davenport, Vic Hill, Casey Roberts, William Thomas, and Jason Welshan.  Twenty-seven entries would see Madden as overall top qualifier at 16.092 seconds, while heat wins fell to Kerr, Mike Marlar, and Madden, with William Thomas winning the B-Main. Jake Teague would win a caution-filled Crate Late Model feature event that was cut short due to the time limit.  Mark Vineyard would take runner-up honors, while Jimmy Elliott would finish third.  Riley Hickman and Brett Wyatt would complete the top five.  The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Adam Beeler, Daniel Baggerly, Todd Morrow, Tod Hernandez, and Roger Best.  Wyatt was the top qualifier among 26 entries, while Brad Coffey won the B-Main for the division. Cameron Skinner would lead the full distance in the Classic Car main event and score the victory over a close running Bart Baxter, who would finish second.  Phillip Thompson, Garrik Kelley, and Joel Wolfenbarger would complete the top five.  Skinner would also be the top qualifier among 11 entries. Ben Sexton would start last, but finished first in the Street Stock main event as he would outdistance Daniel Reece, Jeff McLemore, Mitchell Brown, Scott Brown, and Jon Cook for the victory.  Cook was the top qualifier among six entries. SUMMARY-Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN-October 26, 2013 Southern All Star Racing Series Super Late Models (27 entries) Group Time Trials Overall Top Qualifier- Chris Madden 16.092 1st Heat (top 6 transfer)- Tommy Kerr, Chris Ferguson, Randy Weaver, Jason Welshan, Stacy Boles, Bret Holmes, William Thomas, David Crabtree, Bobby Giffin 2nd Heat (top 6 transfer)- Mike Marlar, Jonathan Davenport, Casey Roberts, Skip Arp, Vic Hill, Riley Hickman, Jeff Franklin, Ryan King, Ellery Leake 3rd Heat (top 6 transfer)- Chris Madden, Scott Bloomquist, Billy Ogle, Jr., Steve Casebolt, Skylar Marlar, Daniel Baggerly, Mark Vineyard, Mark Douglas, Eddie Blackmon B-Main (top 4 transfer)- William Thomas, Jeff Franklin, David Crabtree, Mark Vineyard, Ryan King, Mark Douglas, Bobby Giffin, Ellery Leake, Eddie Blackmon Provisionals- Mark Douglas, Bobby Giffin TN State Championship presented by NAPA-  Mike Marlar, Chris Madden, Scott Bloomquist, Randy Weaver, Billy Ogle, Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Vic Hill, Casey Roberts, William Thomas, Jason Welshan, Bret Holmes, Jeff Franklin, Skip Arp, Chris Ferguson, Daniel Baggerly, Skylar Marlar, Mark Vineyard, Stacy Boles, Riley Hickman, Tommy Kerr, Steve Casebolt, Mark Douglas, Bobby Giffin, David Crabtree Crate Late Models (26 entries) Top Qualifier- Brett Wyatt B-Main- Brad Coffey, Brett Ashley, Kip Sawyer, Matt Shockley, Bobby Mays, Todd Brooks (DNS- Johnny Bales, David Crabtree) A-Main Feature- Jake Teague, Mark Vineyard, Jimmy Elliott, Riley Hickman, Brett Wyatt, Adam Beeler, Daniel Baggerly, Todd Morrow, Tod Hernandez, Roger Best, Robby Moses, Jason McCall, Chad Beeler, Colby Moses, Craig Reece, Kip Sawyer, Bobby Mays, Brad Coffey, Jerry Coffman, Todd Brooks, Rusty Webb, James Kelso, Brett Ashley, Matt Shockley Classic Cars (11 entries) Feature- Cameron Skinner, Bart Baxter, Phillip Thompson, Garrik Kelley, Joel Wolfenbarger, Logan Dukes, Tim Sands, Jr., Marvin Ray, Richie Overholser, Robbie Sands Street Stocks (6 entries) Feature- Ben Sexton, Daniel Reece, Jeff McLemore, Mitchell Brown, Scott Brown, Jon Cook

Comments are closed.